Cannon Beach Sandcastle Day

Haystack Rock

Haystack Rock

There is only one day a year when beach parking is allowed in Cannon Beach. That is on Sandcastle Day. The sheer overflow of cars on the streets would likely close the town down so it is allowed that one day as visitors pour into town to see the amazing creations made of sand.

sandcastle05demise005secondJPGI have a formal complaint. Sandcastle Day is always held in early June and the last three years in a row, it has been a cold experience. Take today for instance. It was overcast and chilly. And of course on the beach you can increase the chilliness ten-fold when you take the wind into account. I have personally heard people say they don’t attend because of the chill and I admit that I always go home sooner than planned for the same reason. My sister in law with small children agrees.

Why do they have it in early June? Well, Cannon Beach schedules it then on purpose. They want to bring in tourists during this time when tourists often don’t come because of the risk of colder weather. Who wants to plan a trip to the beach and have it rain all week? Very few.sandhaystack

It does work of course. Sandcastle Day is a big event here and there are people that attend every year and spend their money in Cannon Beach.

But attendance has been dropping the last few years and because many I talk to say that the weather is a deterrent, I am seriously wondering if this marketing move on the City’s part was the best one. (I should note that I don’t believe that is the only reason for the dropping attendance-there are other factors I won’t discuss here).

Granted, weather on the Oregon Coast is never a guarantee. But I can tell you that you have a much better chance of sunny skies in August and September.

So why not make it a certain weekend every year a little later in the summer? I wonder if attendance would once again increase?

P.S. These pics are from previous years as my camera broke this week.

5 thoughts on “Cannon Beach Sandcastle Day

  1. Very cool. I love stuff like that. I wish our schedule had a trip planned for your area. Jaken just mentioned he wanted to go to the coast to catch crabs again. I hope all is well with you.

  2. Pingback: August 18, 2009 – Oregon Coast « Dave Fry's Picture of the Day

Leave a Reply

